It is currently Thu Nov 15, 2018 7:07 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 22 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
Montalo
 Post subject: Civ V
PostPosted: Mon Oct 25, 2010 5:32 pm 
Offline
PP Quarterback
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2009 10:09 pm
Posts: 1630
Location: Buffalo, NY
okay

i konw some of you(cross, squanto) have it


Owning civ II myself, is civ V worth it to purchase?


how much has changed(im sure a lot), would you reccomend purchasing it

_________________
PSA: I am an overly sarcastic person. If you take me at my word, then i will most likely anger and offend you.


Top
 Profile  
 
Crosscheck
 Post subject: Re: Civ V
PostPosted: Mon Nov 01, 2010 11:52 am 
Offline
Sober enough to run a server
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 09, 2009 3:10 am
Posts: 7474
Location: 2,568 miles from the F'n arena
If you're a fan of the series, you must get Civ V.

You need fairly decent hardware to play it at non-frustrating speeds (it was programmed to use multiple cores for AI processing and in a larger game, multiple cores is a necessity).

It's already consumed several weekends of mine (Including the last one).

The graphics got a nice boost and it no longer produces a spiderweb of roads.

Image

_________________
Hold my beer and watch this...


Top
 Profile  
 
Ryan911T
 Post subject: Re: Civ V
PostPosted: Mon Nov 01, 2010 12:00 pm 
Offline
resident car guy
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2009 2:09 pm
Posts: 1278
Location: Rochester, NY
Man, this makes me wish my computer was faster.

_________________
Check out Fast Super Cars, Car Tuning, and WNY Sports

Twitter - @Ryan911T - @MotoExposure


Top
 Profile  
 
Squanto
 Post subject: Re: Civ V
PostPosted: Mon Nov 01, 2010 12:03 pm 
Offline
Carlos Spicy-Wiener
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 09, 2009 10:31 am
Posts: 9240
Location: FAP TURBO
I concur. It's great, and will kill entire weekends before you know what happened to you.

The hex game field is a nice improvement, and I like the city states they added to force certain types of interactions. City management in general is more streamlined too. I really like how it's more about what you want to do, and less about how you find the options to do it.

That being said, I have a older dual core 64bit CPU, and in the middle of game cycles I really chug, even with 8GB of ram in that machine. As Ed said, make sure you have a beefy CPU for this one.

(And fuck Russia. They always pick fights with me no matter now nice I am.)


Top
 Profile  
 
Crosscheck
 Post subject: Re: Civ V
PostPosted: Mon Nov 01, 2010 12:17 pm 
Offline
Sober enough to run a server
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 09, 2009 3:10 am
Posts: 7474
Location: 2,568 miles from the F'n arena
Squanto wrote:
(And fuck Russia. They always pick fights with me no matter now nice I am.)

Heh...that's what Napoleon always does to me...That little bitch.

_________________
Hold my beer and watch this...


Top
 Profile  
 
Squanto
 Post subject: Re: Civ V
PostPosted: Mon Nov 01, 2010 12:20 pm 
Offline
Carlos Spicy-Wiener
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 09, 2009 10:31 am
Posts: 9240
Location: FAP TURBO
Fucking sucks doesn't it? Every time they do that , I dump my entire strategery and fast-tech straight to nukes just to obliterate them.

I'd make a terrible politician. :)


Top
 Profile  
 
Crosscheck
 Post subject: Re: Civ V
PostPosted: Mon Nov 01, 2010 12:32 pm 
Offline
Sober enough to run a server
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 09, 2009 3:10 am
Posts: 7474
Location: 2,568 miles from the F'n arena
Squanto wrote:
Fucking sucks doesn't it? Every time they do that , I dump my entire strategery and fast-tech straight to nukes just to obliterate them.

I'd make a terrible politician. :)

Heh...I usually run a small or medium sized map completely over before even reaching nukes...I'm as diplomatic as John Bolton.

_________________
Hold my beer and watch this...


Top
 Profile  
 
Ryan911T
 Post subject: Re: Civ V
PostPosted: Mon Nov 01, 2010 1:28 pm 
Offline
resident car guy
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2009 2:09 pm
Posts: 1278
Location: Rochester, NY
Last time I played Civilization was 4th grade after school ended in my classroom, and it was really fun.

Hows Civ IV? My computer might be fast enough to run that.

_________________
Check out Fast Super Cars, Car Tuning, and WNY Sports

Twitter - @Ryan911T - @MotoExposure


Top
 Profile  
 
Skyline_BNR34
 Post subject: Re: Civ V
PostPosted: Mon Nov 01, 2010 2:03 pm 
Offline
Cup Winner
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 09, 2009 9:34 pm
Posts: 13019
Location: North Carolina
Dang, they should make a PS3 version, because my computer sure as hell won't run it.

_________________
CriminallyVu1gar wrote:
No need for violence, just tell her she's got a game misconduct and show her the door.

Rud wrote:
As I said in the GDT, the call on Rivet was horseshit. The Bruins player was holding onto Rivet's stick like it was the last fucking raft on the Titanic.


Top
 Profile  
 
Crosscheck
 Post subject: Re: Civ V
PostPosted: Mon Nov 01, 2010 2:25 pm 
Offline
Sober enough to run a server
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 09, 2009 3:10 am
Posts: 7474
Location: 2,568 miles from the F'n arena
Some games just don't translate to console...this is one of those.

This game isn't about graphics really, it needs sheer processing power and RAM.

_________________
Hold my beer and watch this...


Top
 Profile  
 
Skyline_BNR34
 Post subject: Re: Civ V
PostPosted: Mon Nov 01, 2010 3:18 pm 
Offline
Cup Winner
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 09, 2009 9:34 pm
Posts: 13019
Location: North Carolina
Crosscheck wrote:
Some games just don't translate to console...this is one of those.

This game isn't about graphics really, it needs sheer processing power and RAM.

That's why I want it for a console.

PS3's have 8 cell processors in them already, my computer as a crappy, EVERYTHING!!!!

_________________
CriminallyVu1gar wrote:
No need for violence, just tell her she's got a game misconduct and show her the door.

Rud wrote:
As I said in the GDT, the call on Rivet was horseshit. The Bruins player was holding onto Rivet's stick like it was the last fucking raft on the Titanic.


Top
 Profile  
 
Crosscheck
 Post subject: Re: Civ V
PostPosted: Mon Nov 01, 2010 4:13 pm 
Offline
Sober enough to run a server
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 09, 2009 3:10 am
Posts: 7474
Location: 2,568 miles from the F'n arena
Skyline_BNR34 wrote:
That's why I want it for a console.

PS3's have 8 cell processors in them already, my computer as a crappy, EVERYTHING!!!!

Apples and oranges really...the game would have to be completely rewritten to use a cell processor.

With just flat out arithmetic, the cell processor in a PS3 can do around 2XX GigaFlops (Billion floating point operations per second) while the Intel i7 (recommended for the game) only clocks in at around 5X Gflops.

However......

The PC has a video card for graphics processing...take the Nvidia GTX 470 (again, recommended for the game). It clocks in at around 1.3 Tflops (trillion) leaving the CPU completely free to calculate AI.

Not saying it won't happen, but it won't be any time soon....and it's really a mouse and keyboard game ;)

_________________
Hold my beer and watch this...


Top
 Profile  
 
Crosscheck
 Post subject: Re: Civ V
PostPosted: Mon Nov 01, 2010 4:37 pm 
Offline
Sober enough to run a server
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 09, 2009 3:10 am
Posts: 7474
Location: 2,568 miles from the F'n arena
Just found this...Sorry, Civ V looks to be PC exclusive by design.

http://news.filefront.com/civilization- ... -consoles/

_________________
Hold my beer and watch this...


Top
 Profile  
 
SeveredLegionair
 Post subject: Re: Civ V
PostPosted: Sat Nov 27, 2010 2:15 am 
Offline
7th Defenseman
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 14, 2010 12:42 pm
Posts: 275
Location: Lockport NY
what they normally have done with the civ games is have the main game on PC only and then do a spin off on the consoles.. (ie: Civilation: Revolutions) so look forward to something like that

_________________
I've decided i'm going to talk in pictures as much as possible..
Image
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
Skyline_BNR34
 Post subject: Re: Civ V
PostPosted: Tue Nov 30, 2010 3:59 am 
Offline
Cup Winner
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 09, 2009 9:34 pm
Posts: 13019
Location: North Carolina
I downloaded Civ IV for my phone, it's just a demo type thing I guess, can only do one battle a day.

_________________
CriminallyVu1gar wrote:
No need for violence, just tell her she's got a game misconduct and show her the door.

Rud wrote:
As I said in the GDT, the call on Rivet was horseshit. The Bruins player was holding onto Rivet's stick like it was the last fucking raft on the Titanic.


Top
 Profile  
 
Montalo
 Post subject: Re: Civ V
PostPosted: Wed Jul 13, 2011 10:18 pm 
Offline
PP Quarterback
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2009 10:09 pm
Posts: 1630
Location: Buffalo, NY
well, i downloaded it from the Mac App Store today, lets see how it goes

_________________
PSA: I am an overly sarcastic person. If you take me at my word, then i will most likely anger and offend you.


Top
 Profile  
 
Skyline_BNR34
 Post subject: Re: Civ V
PostPosted: Tue Aug 09, 2011 12:55 am 
Offline
Cup Winner
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 09, 2009 9:34 pm
Posts: 13019
Location: North Carolina
I heard it's terrible on the Mac. But I dunno. I may think about it later on if you say it's good Jon.

_________________
CriminallyVu1gar wrote:
No need for violence, just tell her she's got a game misconduct and show her the door.

Rud wrote:
As I said in the GDT, the call on Rivet was horseshit. The Bruins player was holding onto Rivet's stick like it was the last fucking raft on the Titanic.


Top
 Profile  
 
Crosscheck
 Post subject: Re: Civ V
PostPosted: Tue Aug 09, 2011 1:15 am 
Offline
Sober enough to run a server
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 09, 2009 3:10 am
Posts: 7474
Location: 2,568 miles from the F'n arena
Skyline_BNR34 wrote:
I heard it's terrible on the Mac. But I dunno. I may think about it later on if you say it's good Jon.

I have it on mac (a core i7 macbook Pro) and PC (a gaming computer), both via Steam.

Both handle it about the same, but initial loading and playing with a limited map area are quicker on the Mac. Large maps/many opponents are quicker on my PC but only because the major burden of processing shifts from CPU to GPU at some point.

I wouldn't knock the mac version at all as long as you have a fairly new processor (core 2 duo and up).

_________________
Hold my beer and watch this...


Top
 Profile  
 
Montalo
 Post subject: Re: Civ V
PostPosted: Tue Aug 09, 2011 1:24 am 
Offline
PP Quarterback
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2009 10:09 pm
Posts: 1630
Location: Buffalo, NY
its really, really good. then again, last one i had was 3, soooo.

_________________
PSA: I am an overly sarcastic person. If you take me at my word, then i will most likely anger and offend you.


Top
 Profile  
 
Skyline_BNR34
 Post subject: Re: Civ V
PostPosted: Thu Aug 11, 2011 9:39 pm 
Offline
Cup Winner
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 09, 2009 9:34 pm
Posts: 13019
Location: North Carolina
Crosscheck wrote:
Skyline_BNR34 wrote:
I heard it's terrible on the Mac. But I dunno. I may think about it later on if you say it's good Jon.

I have it on mac (a core i7 macbook Pro) and PC (a gaming computer), both via Steam.

Both handle it about the same, but initial loading and playing with a limited map area are quicker on the Mac. Large maps/many opponents are quicker on my PC but only because the major burden of processing shifts from CPU to GPU at some point.

I wouldn't knock the mac version at all as long as you have a fairly new processor (core 2 duo and up).

I have the new MacBook Pro 13 inch with the 2.7 Ghz Dual Core i7.

I'm sure this could run it fine, but I don't have the money to buy the game yet. I may buy it eventually though.

_________________
CriminallyVu1gar wrote:
No need for violence, just tell her she's got a game misconduct and show her the door.

Rud wrote:
As I said in the GDT, the call on Rivet was horseshit. The Bruins player was holding onto Rivet's stick like it was the last fucking raft on the Titanic.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 22 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron